Skip to content


16 Jul
27 Jul
28 Jul
08 Aug
03 Jul
14 Jul
19 Aug
30 Aug
Chinese Taipei, Taipei City
03 Jul
14 Jul
Republic of Korea, Gwangju

FISU Technical Committee Chair

Patricia Fontanillas Technical Committee Chair
fr fra
Nikolaos Vasileiou Technical Committee Chair
gr gre

History of Water Polo in FISU

A team of Water Polo consists of six field players and one goalkeeper and the aim of the game resembles that of football: to score as many goals as possible, each goal being worth one point.

The first university men’s Water Polo tournament was played at the 3rd International Summer Sports Week in Dortmund in 1953. Since then, student players from all over the world enjoyed to compete under the FISU flag. Seven teams participated in the first Summer Universiade in 1959 in Torino (ITA), two pools of four teams competed in Sofia (BUL) in 1961, just a decade before reaching twelve teams in 1973 in Moscow (RUS). The successful path of Water Polo continued throughout the new millennium.

This progress and popularity of men’s Water Polo also led to an increasing development of women’s Water Polo. In 2000, it made its debut at the Sydney Olympics, enabling the Executive Committee of FISU to also include an eight teams’ tournament into the compulsory programme of the World University Games. The first edition of the women’s tournament was played in Belgrade in 2009.

Minimum Requirements for Water Polo

The Organising Committee must provide, for exclusive use, an indoor or outdoor pool for international men’s and women’s Water Polo as approved by the Water Polo CT. The FINA regulations must be followed.