Skip to content


29 May
02 Jun
31 Jul
04 Aug
16 Mar
20 Mar
09 Jul
14 Jul
12 Aug
23 Aug

FISU Technical Committee Chairs

Luis Loureiro Technical Committee Chair
pt por
Nienke Vos Substitute Technical Committee Chair
nl ned

The History of Cycling in FISU

After the initial edition in Antwerp, five other Championships have been organised: 1986 Moscow, Russia, 1990 in Palma de Mallorca (Spain), 2006 in Antwerp (Belgium), 2008 Nijmegen (the Netherlands) and 2014 Jelenia Gora (Poland). These Championships have consistently drawn large numbers of competitors and increasingly attracted more spectators. Included into the programme in 2006, mountain biking and BMX have seen remarkable development and the enthusiasm they generated in university circles. The next World University Cycling Championship will be organised in San Carlos, Costa Rica, from 29 May to 2 June 2024.