16 FISU Page Banners University Sport News  main

  1. News
  2. /
  3. Cycling
  4. /
  5. Inaugural Asian University Cycling Championship
Navigation :

28 July 2015 | in CUSF News, Other Events, Cycling

Inaugural Asian University Cycling Championship



CHANG NYEONG – From 22 to 26 July, the 1st Asian University Cycling Championship was staged in Chang Nyeong, Korea. 71 participants from 4 national teams and 4 university teams from China, Japan, Mongolia, Philippines and Korea competed at this inaugural event. 4 University teams included Peking University in China, Kanoya University in Japan, Mon-Altius University in Mongolia and Changwon University in Korea.

The competition started on 24th July with Criterium and Individual Time Trial events. It was Kyeong Ho Min from Korea National team who first passed the finish line in 33’43’’86. Kuroeda Saya from Kanoya University and Batmunkh Maralerdene from Mon-Altius University were runner-up and third respectively. The gold medal in Criterium Team went to Japan National team with 1:41’24”84. Kanoya University team (Japan) and Korea National team were second and third respectively. In this event, Japan, Korea and Mongolia were top three winners.

Individual Time Trial followed. Altanzul Altansukh from Mon-Altius University won the gold medal clocking 09’16’’41 while Kyeong Ho Min got the silver medal trailing only 1 second. Batmunkh Maralerdene from Mon-Altius University settled for the bronze. The 1st place of team in Time Trial was Mon-Altius University with 29’17”41, Kanoya University (Japan) and Korea National team won 2nd and 3rd place respectively.

On 25July the Opening Ceremony of this event took place. Mr. Kim Choong Sik, the County Governor of Chang Nyeong; Mr. Yoon Baek Ho, the President of Korea University Cycling Federation, and Mr. Ha Woong Yong, AUSF EC representative, other guests, 71 participants and 500 local amateur riders celebrated the grand opening of this event together. Following the Opening Ceremony, the 100km Individual Road Race took place. Kyeong Ho Min won the gold medal with 2:40’21’’10 while Erdenesuren Munkhtulga and Altanzul Altansukh from Mon-Altius University won the silver and the bronze medal respectively. Mon-Altius University team got the best result in the Road Race with 8:02’53’’15 followed by Japan National team and Kanoya Univerity.


(Source: Laura YAN, AUSF General Coordinator)