Skip to content
Home Events 2016 FISU World University Championships American Football

2016 FISU World University Championships American Football

Mexico, Monterey
11 Jun 2016 - 11 Jun 2016

Team Mexico Back-to-Back Champion on the Gridiron

There is no better way to win a championship’s title than on home turf. That’s what Team Mexico did at the 2nd edition of the FISU World University American Football Championship that was hosted in Monterrey, Mexico from 1 to 11 June, 2016.

After the inaugural edition in Sweden in 2014, only champions Mexico, runner-up Japan and China returned to the 2nd edition in Monterrey. In Mexico, inaugural contenders Sweden and Finland were replaced by USA and Guatemala.

Both Mexico and the USA reached the final undefeated with three wins each. Although the Americans lead early in the game with a first Touch Down, the Mexicans were able to end the first quarter with an equal score (7:7). From then onwards, the home team dominated the gridiron with a strong defence while their offensive team took advantage of every opportunity they got to trick the American defence. Mexico looked impressive, scored 35 unanswered points and defeated Team USA to proclaim, for the second time in a row, the championship’s title.

Next edition of the WUC American Football will be hosted in Harbin, China in 2018.