Skip to content
Home Events 2014 FISU World University Championships American Football

2014 FISU World University Championships American Football

Sweden, Uppsala
01 May 2014 - 11 May 2014

Mexico wins Inaugural FISU WUC American Football

From 1 to 11 May, 2014, the inaugural edition of the FISU World University American Football Championship took place in Uppsala, Sweden. Five nations participated in the first edition of this international student-athletes competition on the gridiron, i.e. China, Finland, Japan, Mexico and host Sweden.

The championship was dominated by Japan and Mexico. Both teams placed themselves for the finals without a loss. After a real ‘Clash of Titans’, Team Mexico maintained undefeated throughout the tournament beating Japan 14-6 and capturing the historic gold medal. Host Sweden succeeded in beating arch rivals Finland in the bronze medal game 28-6.

Although China lost all its games, the Chinese stood well up to their competitors and appreciated the fair play on the playing field. With a lot of players new to the game, the inexperienced team saw the WUC as an excellent opportunity to learn.

The 2nd edition of the FISU WUC American Football will be hosted in Monterey, Mexico in 2016.