Ice Hockey

  1. Sports
  2. /
  3. Winter Games Sports
  4. /
  5. Ice Hockey
Navigation :

The fastest team sport in the world was added to the sports programme of the Winter Universiade for the 2nd edition in Villars, Switzerland in 1962. In 2009, at the 24th edition in Harbin, China, the women’s tournament was added as well. Simply the right decision as both exciting tournaments always attract big crowds!

EVENTS FISU World University Games

Torino (ITA)
13-23 Jan 2025
Lake Placid (USA)
12-22 Jan 2023
Lucerne (SUI)
Krasnoyarsk (RUS)
2-12 Mar 2019
Almaty (KAZ)
29 Jan - 8 Feb 2017
Granada (ESP)
4-14 Feb 2015

All Events FISU World University Games

Ice Hockey

FISU Technical Committee Chairs


International Federation

International Ice Hockey Federation

FISU Regulations

You can download the latest version here.

The History of Ice Hockey in FISU

After the success of the 1960 edition in Chamonix, France, the FISU World University Games have confirmed their place among the world’s most important winter multi-sport events. Ice Hockey is the most popular team sport on ice, and has been a long-standing and important part of the FISU Games.


The first men’s Ice Hockey tournament at the Winter Universiade took place in 1962 in Villars, Switzerland, featuring four teams: 1. Czechoslovakia; 2. Soviet Union; 3. Sweden; 4. Switzerland.


Since 1962, the Ice Hockey men’s tournament has been part of the Winter Universiade programme and has become one of the most attractive sports of FISU’s winter event. In addition, FISU included women’s Ice Hockey for the first time on the programme of the 2009 Winter Universiade in Harbin, China, where six countries competed. This was matched at the Erzurum 2011 Winter Universiade where six teams and 122 athletes competed and has continued to grow with eight teams competing at the Lake Placid 2023 FISU Games. Thanks to the good cooperation between FISU and the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), FISU keep following the development of Ice Hockey as an international university sport.



Ice Hockey | Women's Bronze and Gold Medal Games
Lake Placid 2023 FISU World University Games



Ice Hockey | Men's Bronze and Gold Medal Games
Lake Placid 2023 FISU World University Games


Previous Events