Il n'y a aucun billet dans cette page

University World Cup
Rugby Sevens

  1. Sport Events
  2. /
  3. FISU University World Cup
  4. /
  5. Rugby Sevens
Navigation :

Rugby Sevens soon making its FISU University World Cup debut 


UWC RUGBY SEVENS LOGOAfter resounding success in its inaugural edition in 2019, our newest sports property is all set for a new sport's debut in 2022. The first-ever FISU University World Cup Rugby Sevens will see the world's best university Rugby Sevens teams battle it out in Kazan, Russia from 12-14 August 2022. 


On the sports program for eight consecutive editions of the biennial FISU World University Championship event series, in addition to twice taking place at the FISU World University Games, Rugby Sevens is no stranger to the international university sports scene. 



How Rugby Sevens will work as a FISU University World Cup event

Performance at continental qualifying tournaments determines team participation at the FISU University World Cup Rugby Sevens event. The five FISU Continental University Sports Federations (CUSF) will hold Rugby Sevens qualifying tournaments.


The continental Qualifying Tournaments for the 2022 edition will get underway next year with the following schedule:


FISU UWC Rugby Sevens – Kazan (RUS) – 12 to 14 August 2022





FISU Deadline for
team selection


11-17 October, 2021
Kuala Lumpur, MAS

Both gender

December 2021




Both gender


9-10 October, 2021

Kampala, UGA

Both gender

FISU America


La Plata, ARG


FISU Oceania



Both gender



Participants at the FISU University World Cup Rugby Sevens will come from the 16 men’s and 16 women’s university teams who excelled during the continental qualifying tournaments. A notable exception to this field size will be during the first edition of the University World Cup Rugby Sevens in 2022 event where both eight men’s and eight women’s teams will compete for the University World Cup crown.



Rugby Sevens gameplay dynamics

Played on a full-size pitch by teams of seven players rather than the fifteen found in the Rugby Union game, Rugby Sevens is also shorter in duration, with each half lasting seven minutes during the pool stages of a tournament and increasing to ten for the final.


Aside from the duration, the laws of Rugby Sevens vary very little from the 15-a-side game, though, because of the amount of space available on the pitch, it is a very different game to watch. Rugby Sevens demands players have incredible fitness as well as plenty of speed, skill, and stamina to cover the field during a match. 


One unique characteristic of Rugby Sevens is that teams at times may choose to retreat towards their own try line, drawing the opposition towards them, in an attempt to create space in other parts of the field for them to then go forward in attack.


The History of Rugby Sevens under the aegis of FISU 

FISU’s partnership with World Rugby dates to 2004 when the inaugural World University Rugby Sevens Championship took place and is where the discipline became an official FISU sport. Since then, Rugby Sevens been a part of the FISU World University Championship series.


Since 2004, a staple of the World University Championship programme

Rugby Sevens entered the programme of the FISU World University Championships in 2004 with a first edition organised in Beijing (CHN), which welcomed 159 rugby players from nine countries. Since then, the number of participants has constantly grown, as well as the number of participating countries, reaching the record number of 273 participants from 17 countries at the 2010 edition hosted by the Portuguese University Sport Federation in Porto. The 5th World University Rugby Sevens Championship was organised in the city of Brive-la-Gaillarde, France, one of the homelands of rugby


Rugby Sevens at the FISU World University Games


Rugby Sevens made its FISU World University Games debut in Kazan 2013 as well as featuring on the Napoli 2019 events programme. In both event editions, Japan took home top honours. France also made earned podium positions at both event editions, winning silver in Kazan and bronze in Napoli. South Africa went home the runner’s up in Napoli and Russia taking bronze on their home field in Kazan.