1. Sport Events
  2. /
  3. Badminton
  4. /
  5. 10th WUC Badminton 2008
Navigation :

10th World University Badminton Championship

Braga, Portugal - May 5th to 10th, 2008


233 participants from 22 countries travelled to Braga, Portugal where the 10th edition of the World University Badminton Championship was hosted by the University of Minho.

Singles Competitions

Yihan Wang retained the world title, by 2-0 after defeating the Korean athlete Kim Mun Hee in the final of the Women’s Singles Competition. In the Men’s Singles Chinese player Pengyu Du conquered the gold medal. The Chinese competitor needed more than an hour to defeat Sheng-Shiun Liao, from Chinese Taipei, for 2-1. It was an exciting final where both players gave everything.

Doubles Competitions

Thai players Patiphat Chalardchalaem and Kunchala Voravichitchaikul became the new World University Champions of badminton’s Mixed Doubles category, after beating the Chinese Taipei pair, Chia-Min Wang/Pei-Rong Wang, by 2-1 in a tough match. The Indonesian pair Bona Septano/Mohammad Ahsan only needed about 25 minutes to defeat the Korean team Gi Hoon Han/Tae Il Han in the Men’s Doubles Competition. The match was completely dominated by the Indonesians. The doubles from Thailand, Voravichitchakul/Aroonkesorn, and from Japan, Nakahara/Sekiya, played the final of the women’s doubles competition which was won by the Thai.



  • Countries: 22
  • Male Athletes: 87
  • Female Athletes: 75
  • Officials: 71
  • Total Participants: 233