1. News
  2. /
  3. Rugby
  4. /
  5. 6th WUC Rugby Sevens: ready?
Navigation :

07 August 2014 | in World University Championships, Rugby

6th WUC Rugby Sevens: ready?

SAO JOSE DOS CAMPOS - Brazil is ready to host the 6th Rugby Sevens World University Championship 2014, in São José dos Campos city, São Paulo, from August 8-10. Teams from 11 countries (Brazil, Argentina, Morocco, China, Canada, Great Britain, Taipei, Namibia, Japan, France and Belgium) will compete in the Men’s and Women’s tournaments. The last WUC Rugby sevens took place in Brive, France, in 2012. This is the second WUC that will take place in Brazil after the Triathlon held in April.

All the matches will be played in the Martins Pereira Stadium with free entrance for the public.

The Sport lovers will be able to watch the games on the CBDU Official website, www.cbdu.org.br and also the www.wc.cbdu.org.br.

The matches of the WUC start with the groups phase, two groups for each gender: Men’s – Group A (Brazil, Taipei, Argentina and Belgium), Group B (Great-Britain, Namíbia, France, Japan and Canada); Women’s – Group C (Brazil, Japan, Belgium, Marocco) and Group D (Great-Britain, France, Canada and China).

The WUC Opening Ceremony will be held this Friday (8), at the hotel Nacional Inn amphitheatre, at 20:00. As usual the traditional delegation parade will be part of the event, artistic performances, oath and speeches of the OC. Brazil will kick off the competition, this Friday (8) in the women’s tournament and will face Morocco, at 15h. The men’s tournament will start right after


The 6th Rugby 7 World University Championship is an organization of the Brazilian University Sport Association and The International University Sport Federation. Support from the Sport Ministry of Brazil and local support of the São José dos Campos City Hall.


Remember the Live Streaming will be held in theses websites: www.cbdu.org.br and  www.wc.cbdu.org.br.

(Source Everton Melo OC Media liaison)