1. News
  2. /
  3. Other Events
  4. /
  5. Third edition of AIPS Sports Media Awards announced
Navigation :

07 June 2020 | in Other Events

Third edition of AIPS Sports Media Awards announced

AIPS Sport Media awards

Even at a time of uncertainty for the world, good work and good journalism does not stop and neither does the recognition.


Submissions for the third edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards are now officially open. The International Sports Press Association (AIPS) is the global professional body representing the international sports media, with more than 9,500 members worldwide.


The annual AIPS Sports Media Awards are a true festival for the best storytellers in sport, across all media platforms, from photography to video, print to digital, and podcasts to sports blogs. The main categories for the awards are:

Writing – Best Column, Best Colour Piece

Photography – Sport Action, Portfolio

Video – Short Feature (up to 10’), Documentary, Athlete Profile

Audio – including podcasts.


Finalists of all these categories are entitled to prize money. 

Winners in each category will receive a cheque of US $ 8,000, while the second and third-placed entries will receive US $ 3,000 and US $ 2,000, respectively.

The final ceremony will take place in the first part of 2021.


There is a special award category for Young Reporter Under 30, open to all those born after 1 January 1991. FISU encourages members of its Young Reporters Programme fraternity to submit their best works in this category.


This special category has three subcategories: Writing, Photography and Broadcasting.

 Winners in the ‘Young Reporter Under 30’ category will receive a unique prize: a scholarship to a major international sporting event. From a maximum of two submissions per person, only one submission can be used to participate in the ‘Young Reporter Under 30’ category.


To be eligible, all submissions must have been published between 8 October 2019, and 7 October 2020. Only articles, videos and audios published between these dates will be valid.

The headline for submission is 7 October 2020.


Journalists interested in participating need to access www.aipsawards.com, create a profile and submit a maximum of two entries. Participation is free and open to all professionals, regardless of work status and language. For further information, AIPS Sport Media Awards Director Martin Mazur can be contacted at Martin.mazur@aipsmedia.com.