Il n'y a aucun billet dans cette page

University Sport News

  1. News
  2. /
  3. Futsal
  4. /
  5. New Zealand names Futsal teams for World University Champs
Navigation :

04 May 2018 | in Futsal, FISU World University Championships

New Zealand names Futsal teams for World University Champs


As the 2017 host of the Winter Universiade now set to host the World University Futsal Championships in August, the teams qualifying to compete in Almaty, Kazakhstan are starting to roll in. With this, New Zealand Football has named the competitors that will  comprise the country's entry into this event and wear the silver fern across their chest.



It is the first time that New Zealand Football has selected the New Zealand University squads to compete in the biannual event, as in 2016 the winning team of the National University Futsal Championship represented NZ at the global event.



The men’s team has six Futsal Whites - Hamish Mitchell (Ara Institute of Canterbury), Luke Maynard (University of Auckland), Luc Saker (Victoria University of Wellington), Jordan Ditfort (Waikato University), Thomas McGowan (University of Canterbury) and Benjamin Lapslie (University of Canterbury).



The women’s team has eight Futsal Ferns - Rivalina Fuimaono (AUT), Hannah Kraakman (University of Auckland), Britney-Lee Nicholson (University of Otago), Maxine Cooper (University of Auckland), Shivy Anthony (University of Auckland), Dayna Manak (AUT), Ella James (University of Melbourne) and Teejay Lyne-Lewis (Massey University) – who impressed in their debut in international futsal last year.



The players in these national squads were selected from the 2016 and 2017 National University Futsal Championships as well as from the current national teams (Futsal Ferns, Futsal Whites and U-18). As the main affiliate to FISU, University and Tertiary Sport New Zealand (UTSNZ) facilitates New Zealand’s involvement in the World University Championships.



Marvin Eakins, the coach for the Futsal Whites, has been named as the coach of the NZ Men’s University team and will work with his assistant coach from the Futsal Whites, Enrico Meirelles.


Eakins, the highest capped futsal player with 51 appearances for his country, said he is looking forward to seeing what his team can do on the world stage.


“We are realistic that it will be very challenging for the men’s team as the quality of the opposition is very high,” said Eakins, the Federation Development Officer at Auckland Football Federation, and the Futsal Talent Manager at NZ Football.  “The quality within the squad will give us an opportunity to aim for the first victory by a NZ Futsal team at a world event.”  





Nic Downes, the head coach of the Futsal Ferns, will coach the NZ Women’s University team alongside his assistant coach and current Futsal Fern Jess Verdon.



“The jump from the U-18 sides to the Men’s and Women’s teams is a challenge for players not quite ready for senior international futsal,” said Eakins. “The university teams provide exposure for these players in an extremely competitive international tournament to help the talented players make a case for inclusion within the senior teams.”



The following nations have confirmed their registration for the 2018 FISU World University Futsal Championship – Afghanistan, Argentina, Belarus, Brazil, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Spain, France, Germany, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, New Zealand, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine and the USA.






2018 FISU World University Futsal Championship

Where: Almaty, Kazakhstan

When: 19 – 26 August, 2018

For more information visit:


NZ University Men's Futsal Team           

Hamish Mitchell (Ara Institute of Canterbury)

Elliot Cooper (AUT)

Luke Maynard (University of Auckland)

Vaughan Somerville (University of Auckland)

Naji Ghamri (University of Auckland)

Thomas McGowan (University of Canterbury)

Benjamin Lapslie (University of Canterbury)

Luc Saker (Victoria University of Wellington)

Thomas Withnall (Victoria University of Wellington)

Tai Barham (Victoria University of Wellington)

Jake Neil (Victoria University of Wellington)

Jordan Ditfort (Waikato University)

Ethan Martin (Waikato University)

Jonathan Tobias (Waikato University)

Head coach: Marvin Eakins

Assistant coach: Enrico Meirelles

Manager: Todd Bryant

Physio: Sean Smit


NZ University Women’s Futsal Team

Dayna Manak (AUT)

Rivalina Fuimaono (AUT)

Teejay Lyne-Lewis (Massey University)

Hannah Kraakman (University of Auckland)

Jenna Dodd (University of Auckland)

Maxine Cooper (University of Auckland)

Shivy Anthony (University of Auckland)

Tessa Leong (University of Auckland)

Emily Gillion (University of Auckland)

Hannah Hegarty (University of Canterbury)

Ella James (University of Melbourne)

Britney-Lee Nicholson (University of Otago)

Jaimee Paterson (University of Otago)

Sarah Alder (Victoria University of Wellington)

Head coach: Nic Downes

Assistant coach: Jess Verdon

Manager: Tracey Spray

Physio: Emily Lo


Contributing source: New Zealand Football