Skip to content
Home News 2022 FISU World University Championship: it’s futsal time again in Portugal

2022 FISU World University Championship: it’s futsal time again in Portugal

Championships 18 July 2022

The opening ceremonyThe FISU World University Championship Futsal is back to the Minho region in Portugal for the third time after 1998 and 2012. Starting today, it will showcase the best of university futsal from around the world until Sunday’s final.  


“Futsal is a sport with a strong tradition in Portugal and has great symbolism for university sport movement, considering that Futsal is one of the most popular sports in Europe and in our country at university level, and one of the most successful and with more teams and athletes,” said André Reis, President of the Academic Federation of University Sports in Portugal (FADU).


“In the last 3 decades, Portugal has hosted more than 40 international university sport events, at European (EUSA) and World (FISU) level, a legacy that give us all a great expectation to create the best experience and support for all student-athletes,” he added.


The competition will take place in the Gualtar Sports Complex of the University of Minho, in Braga, and the Multiusos, in Guimarães.  


All the games will be livestreamed on


The groups and schedule at a glance:


Women Group A:  Portugal, Czech Republic and Lebanon


Women Group B: Ukraine, Germany and Brazil


Women Group C: Poland, Israel and New Zealand


Men Group A: Argentina, Israel, New Zealand and Portugal


Men Group B: Brazil, Oman, Slovakia, Ukraine


Men Group C: Czech Republic, Poland and Saudi Arabia


18 July


Women: Ukraine-Germany (11.30 CET), Portugal-Czech Republic (17.00), Poland Israel (19:00)


Men: Czech Republic-Poland (13.00), Brazil-Oman (14:00), Ukraine-Slovakia (15:00), Israel-New Zealand (16:30), Portugal-Argentina (19:00)


19 July


Women: Ukraine-Brazil (13:00), Czech Republic-Lebanon (17:00), Poland-New Zealand (19:00)


Men: Saudi Arabia-Poland (11:30), Ukraine-Brazil (14:00), Oman-Slovakia (15:00), New Zealand-Argentina (16:30), Portugal-Israel (19:00)


20 July


Women: Germany-Brazil (13:00), Lebanon-Portugal (16:30), Israel-New Zealand (19:00)


Men: Saudi Arabia- Czech Republic (11:30), Slovakia-Brazil (14:00), Oman-Ukraine (15:00), Argentina-Israel (17:00), New Zealand-Portugal (19:00)


Rest day on 21 July and knock out stage from 22 to 24 July