1. News
  2. /
  3. Futsal
  4. /
  5. 9th European Universities Futsal Championship
Navigation :

31 July 2013 | in Futsal, CUSF News

9th European Universities Futsal Championship



Women's Champions


ANTEQUERA - The 9th European Universities Futsal Championship which started on July 21st, concluded a week later on Sunday, July 28th with a Closing Ceremony at Fernando Argüelles Sport Hall, in Antequera near Malaga, Spain. Over 500 participants from 31 Universities representing 19 different countries took part in this year’s edition of the event.

The event opened on July 21st with a very colourful and charming ceremony held at the Technified Athletics Sports Centre of Antequera, in which the values of sportsmanship, camaraderie, collaboration and competitiveness were stressed by the authorities belonging to the Organising Committee of the Championship. Futsal fans across Europe were able to watch the matches online via the live webstreaming.

In men’s finals, the title of champions went to the University of Valladolid (ESP) who has won a thrilling final match against AS University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne (FRA). In the women’s finals, the title went to AS Rouen UC SSE (FRA) who has won an exciting final match against the University of Minho.

Medals and awards were presented by Mr Manuel Barón, Mayor of Antequera, Mrs Isabel Calero, Vice-rector of the University of Malaga, Mr Pedro Montiel, President of the Organising Committee; Mr Wolf Fruhauf, Honorary Member of EUSA, Mr Alberto Vallespín, City councilman of Education and Sports, Mr Patrik Perosa, EUSA Sports Manager, Mr Tomasz Aftanski, EUSA Futsal Technical Delegate and Mr Marko Brčić, Assistant Futsal Technical Delegate of EUSA.

The EUSA flag was passed to Mr Piotr Kuś, representative of the 10th European Universities Futsal Championship, which will take place in Poznan, Poland, in 2015. Futsal otherwise returns to EUSA sports events already in 2014 at the 2nd European Universities Games in Rotterdam.

For more information, please visit www.futsal2013.eusa.eu or www.eusa.eu.


(Source: EUSA)