English versionVersion Française

FISU homepage / SPORTS / World University Championships / Equestrian


The History of Equestrian in FISU

The first World University Equestrian Championship was organised in Saumur, France, in 1988. Students from 22 countries gathered in July to compete for the coveted titles. Already in 1985 the German city of Darmstadt had set up the European University Championship that had drawn participants from 14 countries. The cities of Rotterdam in the Netherlands and Aku in Germany hosted the World University Championships in 1990 and 1994 respectively. After a short break the renewal of the World University Equestrian Championship took place in Bern, Switzerland, in 2000. Since then, the equestrian championships have been held every two years on a regular basis.  Their last editions were held on three different continents: La Rochelle in 2006, Alger in 2008 and Sangju in 2010.


FISU Regulations

The equestrian competition has its own FISU Regulations following the most recent rules of the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI). The FISU Regulations are always set up on the recommendation of the FISU Technical Chair and the FEI Technical Delegate in close cooperation with the Committee for Sports Regulations, and approved by the FISU Executive Committee. The competitions shall last a maximum of five (5) days and include the following events for men and women:

Each country may enter a maximum of nine (9) persons of which four (4) competitors and five (5) officials.
In each event, each country is authorised to enter: a maximum of four (4) riders of whom only three (3) may compete.
The dressage and jumping events will be organised following the "knock out" system from which the combined classification will be established.


Individual Tournament

Team Tournament


Team Combined Classification



 Individual Combined Classification


Minimum Requirements for Equestrian

With the equestrian CT approval, the Organising Committee must provide, for exclusive use, outdoor sports facilities in all competition and training facilities for men's and women's equestrian events. The FEI regulations must be followed.

Competition and Training Facilities

Type of Venue

Number of Venues

Changing Room Competitors

Changing Room TOJR*

Spectator Seating

Press and Media Seating

Outdoor Facilities


Gender Segregated




*TOJR Technical Officials, Judges and Referees

Next Events

2016 - 11th WUC Equestrian - Flyinge (SWE)


International Federation

Fédération Equestre Internationale


FISU Technical Delegate





Previous Events


2012 - 10th WUC Equestrian - Aachen (GER)

2010 - 9th WUC Equestrian - Sangju (KOR)

2008 - 8th WUC Equestrian - Alger (ALG)

2006 - 7th WUC Equestrian - La Rochelle (FRA)

2004 - 6th WUC Equestrian - Tokyo (JPN)

2002 - 5th WUC Equestrian - Mechelen (BEL)

2000 - 4th WUC Equestrian - Bern (SUI)

1994 - 3rd WUC Equestrian - Ankum (GER)

1990 - 2nd WUC Equestrian - Rotterdam (NED)

1988 - 1st WUC Equestrian - Saumur (FRA)

Official Supplier

IOC recognised organisation
Since 1961

© FISU - Terms of use - Made by 2exVia with MasterEdit® - Design FISU Media